• books 1
  • books 2
  • Rappaport Prize Winner 2016

"Let us study things that are no more. It is necessary to understand them, if only to avoid them." - Victor Hugo

Welcome from the Chair, Pamela Radcliff

As Chair, I would like to welcome you to the Department of History at UC San Diego. Comprised of 40 full-time faculty, we offer excellent undergraduate and graduate programs in a number of geographic and thematic areas. Our faculty have earned national and international recognition for their scholarship as well for teaching.

At the undergraduate level, we emphasize the traditional humanistic skills of critical reading, good writing, and analysis of historical texts, and allow majors to take a broad range of courses across regional and temporal boundaries. For highly motivated majors, we have an honors program that allows students to research and write a thesis under the supervision of an adviser.

At the graduate level, our PhD students focus on one of our areas of specialization for their dissertation research, but also pick two minor fields that provide greater breadth to their training. Many of our doctoral students go on to full-time academic jobs, as well as positions in government, NGO’s and the private sector.

Major teaching and research fields include the history of the United States, Europe, Africa, East Asia, Latin America, the Middle East, the History of Science, and Judaic Studies, both ancient and modern. Across these geographic boundaries, we offer teaching and research strengths in thematic areas such as the history of gender, sexuality, nationalism, race and ethnicity among others.

The Department is thrilled to welcome four new faculty members this year: Denise Demetriou (PhD Classics 2005, Johns Hopkins), in the Ranglas Endowed Chair in Ancient Greek History, Claire Edington (PhD History and Ethics of Public Health, Columbia University 2013), Simeon Man (PhD American Studies, Yale, 2012) and Wendy Matsumura (PhD Japanese Studies, NYU 2007).  At the same time, we regretfully bid farewell to faculty members who retired last year, including Michael Monteon, Michael Parrish, and Eric Van Young, as well as John Marino, who tragically passed away last fall.

Give to the History Department

Your donations directly support the History Department.