UC San Diego SearchMenu

Adjunct & Affiliated Faculty

  • Michael R. Belknap

    (Ph.D. University of Wisconsin, 1973; Professor, California Western School of Law) teaches modern American legal and constitutional history.
    Phone: (858) 534-6871
    Email: mbelknap@cwsl.edu
    H&SS Room 5073
  • Amy Bridges-Kronick

    (Ph.D. University of Chicago, 1980; Professor, Political Science, UCSD) specializes in United States urban history.
    Phone: (858) 534-7706
    Email: abridges@ucsd.edu
    SSB Room 394
  • Suzanne Cahill

    (Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley, 1982; Adjunct Professor, History, UCSD) is an expert in Medieval China, the Tao, and Taoists saints. Her work also includes research on women in Medieval China.
    Phone: (858) 534-8105
    Email: suzannecahill@gmail.com
    H&SS Room 3040
  • Paul W. Drake

    (Ph.D. Stanford University, 1971; Professor, Political Science, UCSD) teaches political science, with an emphasis on Latin America.
    Phone: (858) 534-6073

    Email: pdrake@ucsd.edu
    ISCC E 2nd floor
  • Steven Erie

    (Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles, 1975; Professor, Political Science, UCSD) focuses on United States urban history.
    Phone: (858) 534-3083
    Email: serie@ucsd.edu
    SSB Room 360
  • Peter Smith

    (Ph.D. Columbia University, 1966; Professor, Sociology, UCSD) teaches history and sociology of science, with a focus on comparative politics and Latin America.
    Phone: (858) 534-6050
    Email: phsmith@ucsd.edu
    SSB Room 364
  • Stefan Tanaka

    (Ph.D. University of Chicago, 1986; Professor, Communication, UCSD) is a historian who has worked on modern Japan. His earlier work focused on the ways that history, pasts, and time were configured to define Japan's world and itself. Recently that inquiry has shifted to history as a technology of communication. 
    Phone: (858) 534-3401
    Email: stanaka@ucsd.edu
    MCC 125A