UC San Diego SearchMenu

Adjunct & Affiliated Faculty

Michal R. Belknap (Ph.D., University of Wisconsin 1973; professor, California Western School of Law) teaches modern American legal and constitutional history.
Phone: 534-6871
Email: mbelknap@cwsl.edu
H&SS Room 5073 Hours: Cal Western

Amy Bridges-Kronick (Ph.D., University of Chicago 1980; professor, Political Science, UCSD) specializes in United States urban history.
Phone: (858) 534-7706
Email: abridges@ucsd.edu
SSB Room 394

Suzanne Cahill
(Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1982; full adjunct professor, History, UCSD) is an expert in Medieval China, the Tao, and Taoists saints. Her work also includes research on women in Medieval China.
Phone: (858) 534-8105
Email address: suzannecahill@gmail.com
H&SS Room 3040 Hours: Usually Wednesday mornings

Paul W. Drake (Ph.D., Stanford University 1971; professor, Political Science, UCSD) teaches political science, with an emphasis on Latin America. Phone: (858) 534-6073
Email: pdrake@ucsd.edu
ISCC E 2nd floor

Steven Erie (Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles 1975; professor, Political Science, UCSD) focuses on United States urban history.
Phone: (858) 534-3083,
Email: serie@ucsd.edu
SSB Room 360

Peter Smith
(Ph.D., Columbia University 1966; professor, Sociology, UCSD) teaches history and sociology of science, with a focus on comparative politics and Latin America.
Phone: (858) 534-6050
Email: phsmith@ucsd.edu
SSB Room 364

Stefan Tanaka (Ph.D., Chicago 1986; professor, Communication, UCSD) is a historian who has worked on modern Japan. His earlier work focused on the ways that history, pasts, and time were configured to define Japan's world and itself. Recently that inquiry has shifted to history as a technology of communication. 
Phone: (858) 534-3401
Email: stanaka@ucsd.edu
MCC 125A